Believing in God is a greater insult than not believing?

Believing in God is a greater insult than not believing?

Believing in God seems to be a greater insult to God than not believing in God.
I was with my buddy last night, having dinner, and the topic of religion came up. He told me he doesn’t believe in religion, but he believes in God. So when I asked him why he believed in God, he said, “Well, I have nothing to lose you see. If i believe in God, then I go to heaven, but if he doesn’t exist then I won’t know it anyway. If I don’t believe in God, I risk going to hell if he does exist. That’s not a risk I’m willing to take.”
In a simpler version, what he meant to say was “I’d rather believe in God and die to find out there isn’t one, or not believe in God and die to find out there is one.”
The first thought that came to my mind was, “Since God is omniscient, omnipotent, omni-etc, then wouldn’t God know that you’re just saying you “believe” in him so that you can get past his pearly gates?” It seems more of an insult to God to do this and assume he’s stupid for not finding out.
It’s like you can just press a button and decide when you want to believe in God whenever it suits you best.
I told him, “what about all the other Gods that could potentially exist that can damn you to hell for believing in the wrong God?”

Leave a Reply

